GSO Test

GSO Test

Thorntree News & Events 2023-2024

We welcomed the children back on Monday 6th September.

On Friday 15th September we held our annual Jeans for Genes day. Children wore jeans for the day and helped to raise £150.17 for this amazing children's charity.

We also held our Autumn cake sale and raised £131.

On Friday 15th September Year 3 went on a school trip to the Woodlands Farm. This was to tie in with their history topic of the prehistoric Stone Age.

On Monday 9th October we held a Little Wandle phonics workshop for parents and carers of our new Reception parents.

On Thursday 5th October Year 5 held their class assembly.

On Monday 9th October we held a Little Wandle workshop for Reception parents.

On Monday 16th October 2023, Luanda from the Acosta Dance Centre, came in to school as part of the Education and Engagement Community Program, in collaboration with Woolwich Works. Throughout the day, Luanda held a dance session with every year group from Nursery to Year 6. She taught them all the basics of the Cuban salsa. The children had such a great time.

On Wednesday 18th October we had a school dinner taster session for parents.

On Thursday 19th October Year 5 went on a trip to the Gurdwara.

On Thursday 19th October we held our annual KS1 and KS2 Harvest assemblies.

On Friday 20th October Year 4 went on a orienteering at the Woodlands Farm. 

On Friday 20th October our Year 6 children delivered Harvest parcels to the community. 

On Monday 13th November our Year 6 class set off on their annual residential trip to Condover Hall in Shropshire. The weather was good and they achieved so much during the weeek, challenging themselves to do things they had never tried before. They did archery, absailing, wall climbing, aerial treks, orienteering, team games, swimming, laser maze, quizzes and much more. They had a fantastic time.

On Thursday 30th November Year 2 visited St Thomas' Church.

On Monday 4th December the whole school watched a performance of Snow White, thanks to funds raised by the FOTA, the parent association.

On Thursday 7th December Nursery, Reception & Year 1 children to visited St Thomas’ church for the crib dressing.

On Thursday 7th December Year 6 did a class assembly to their parents about their Condover Hall trip.

On Thursday 7th December Year 5 went on a trip to the Royal Observatory in Greenwich.

On Friday 8th December children wore lovely Christmas jumpers for Christmas jumper day, paying £1 each for Save the Children charity.

 On Friday 8th December we also held our annual Christmas Fair. Each class had their own stall, selling items they had made. There was Santa's Grotto, lots of games and an amazing food and refreshment stall.

On Thursday 14th December we held our KS2 Carol Concert at St Thomas’ Church.

On Tuesday 19th December our Nursery, Reception and Years 1 & 2 performed the Nativity for their parents and carers.

And the children rounded off the term with their Christmas parties on Wednesday 20th December.

On Tuesday 16th January Year 2 went on a trip to the National Portrait Gallery.

On Wednesday 17th January Years 1 & 2 had the first of four Family Literacy sessions for parents and carers.

On Wednesday 17th January Year 4 went on a trip to National Maritime Museum.

On Thursday 18th January Reception class held their class assembly for parents and carers.

On Thursday 18th January Year 4 held their class exhibition.

On Monday 22nd January Year 6 went on a trip to the Imperial War Museum.

On Wednesday 24th January Year2 and Year 5 had fire safety workshops.

On Friday 26th January Year 3 went on a trip to the British Museum.

 

Funds raised this year:

Jeans for Genes: £150.17

 Autumn cake sale: £131